RSS

Beyond Shades: Part 10

16 Nov

Resolution

True to her word, the conversation was not over; Sonia called once more a few minutes after the last call.

“Hey, so what happened? Who is Christine? And don’t lie to me.” She demanded.

“Well, like I told you, I was stressed out, one thing led to another and I accidentally got drunk.”

“Wait up, like you were walking, tripped and fell into a basin filled with booze?”

I couldn’t help but laugh. “No. not so.”

“So what do you mean ‘accidentally got drunk?’” She pressed.

“Well, you know am not much of a drinker, so jana I took more than my system is used to.”

“Okay and what’s this Christine chic got to do with everything?”

“Well, Christine is a close friend of mine. We had some fallout.”

“Stop being cagey, is she your other chick?”

“No, not at all, she’s a close friend, that’s all.”

“Your drunken lamentations state otherwise.” She kept coming at me. If I only knew how much I had told her yesterday…I regretted.

“A close friend who stresses you that you go out and get drunken stupid…you’re such a lousy liar, did I ever tell you that?”

“God, can we talk about something else?” I tried to evade the current topic.

“The hell we can’t” she said matter-of-factly.

“Look, Christine thought we were more than just friends. She stumbled on some of your photos and messages and tripped.”

“Seems you hadn’t set the record straight with her.” She observed.

After an eternal silence she posed, “Can I meet her?”

“No way!” I protested a little too soon.

‘See, I knew you were not being honest.”

“C’mon Sonia, things are a bit frosty, now is not a good time. I’ll arrange for you two to meet once everything cools down, I promise.” I desperately tried to claw my way out of her clever trap.

“Give me a timeline.”

“Mmmh, how about a fortnight?”

“Cool, fine by me.”

“Okay, then.

“Great, are you okay now? I mean with the hangover and stuff?”

“Yea, am fine. Thanks for asking”

“Great, see you soon”

“See you, love you.” I signed off.

Sonia meeting with Christine? I couldn’t imagine how the meeting would go. Would one, or both, of them threaten to leave me? Would they fight? I tried going through all possible outcomes but none seemed certain. I decided I was not going to torture myself over the same and decided to live one day at a time. But one thing was for sure, I had to break up with one of them soon, and very soon if Sonia was serious about the meet up.

Later that evening I called Christine and invited her for a walk. She was reluctant at first but agreed to it nonetheless. I met her downstairs a few minutes later and we headed to a less populated part of the neighborhood.

“So you lied to me that you don’t drink.” She started off without any niceties.

“I don’t, and what happened yesterday is out of the norm.”  I said defensively.

“Still, you do drink, right?”

“Rarely.”

“At first, I liked you because you were honest and forthright.” She noted.

“And now?”

“Am not sure anymore.”

“Okay, but that’s nothing really, it’s not like I drink on a daily basis and claimed to be a teetotaler.”

“It may seem nothing, but such small lies piled together create a whole new different personality of the person you thought you knew.”

“You may be right. Am sorry in that regard.”

“Makes me wonder how many more lies you’ve been telling me.” She said.

“I don’t know what you are getting at but I have tried to be honest with you in almost everything.”

“Almost?” She taunted.

“C’mon, you ladies hate the truth, every once in a while I have to lie to make you happy.”

“Oh, like when you say Sonia is just a friend while we both know she isn’t.” She teased.

“I don’t think there is anything I can say to convince you otherwise, so believe what you want!” I retorted.

“Let’s be honest with ourselves Edwin, I don’t think this relationship is headed anywhere.”

“Is that what you think?” I asked indifferently.

“Am sure you also know that is the truth.”

“I haven’t said so.”

“You don’t have to, your actions speak loudly…and I wouldn’t want to be the other woman.”

We turned back and walked a considerable distance, each engrossed in their own thoughts. On my part, I was happy that the puzzle was playing out to my intentions. We got to the gate parted ways and stiffly.

I wasn’t happy with the way Christine had handled the whole drunkenness affair. I mean, from time to time one is bound to make mistakes, it’s human. Having a partner who makes a big deal out of every slip will just make life miserable, and that is not how I was planning to spend the rest of my life. Sonia, on the other hand, proved mature for her age. Given that I had called her and ranted about Christine in my drunken stupor, she would have been entitled to go ballistic on me but she didn’t. She was cool about the whole affair, and that’s the kind of person I would love to commit myself to.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2016 in Fiction, Romance, Short Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
